Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
  Main Books Music DVDs Forum Spotlight Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > Our Picks > Cultural Studies
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Our Picks
Books Category
Arts - Performing
Arts - Visual
Autobiography/ Biography
Calendars/Notecards/ Gifts
Classical/ Medieval/ Renaissance Studies
Cultural Studies
General Non-Fiction
Large Print
New Age
Parenting & Childcare
Regional Studies
Social/ Behavioral/ Political Sciences
Daedalus Books
Warehouse Outlet
Daedalus Warehouse outlet
Catalog Handy?
  Easy Order Form
  Shop Current Catalog
  Request Catalog
Need the Perfect Gift?

Gift Cards
Reading Group Picks

Reading Group Picks

Movie Group Picks
Clearance Sale!
  Book Clearance
  Music Clearance
  DVD Clearance
Daily Glean
Our Picks
We'd like to share our personal favorites with you. Here are titles that we particularly want to "hand-sell" to you?books that we think are outstanding, and that we don't want you to miss.
Cultural Studies Sort By # of Items Per Page
Thornton Dial in the 21st Century
William Arnett, John Beardsley, Alvia J. Wardlaw & Jane Livingston.
Publisher: Tinwood Books/MFA Houston.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780971910430.  Daedalus Item Code: 43422
Born in Emelle, Alabama, in 1928, the self-taught African American artist Thornton Dial creates vivid assemblages and collages—in the tradition of Rauschenberg, Schwitters, and Debuffet—that address ... (Read More)
List Price: $65.00 Sale Price: $19.98 You Save: $45.02
Three Days Before the Shooting...: The Unfinished Second Novel
Ralph Ellison. John F. Callahan & Adam Bradley, eds.
Publisher: Modern Library.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9780375759543.  Daedalus Item Code: 43523
At his death in 1994, the author of the National Book Award winner Invisible Man left behind more than 2,000 pages of his unfinished second novel, which he had spent nearly four decades ... (Read More)
List Price: $25.00 Sale Price: $6.98 You Save: $18.02
Through Irish Eyes: A Visual Companion to Angela McCourt's Ireland
Malachy McCourt, foreword.
Publisher: Glitterati.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780985169671.  Daedalus Item Code: 41197
A remarkable companion volume to Frank McCourt's Pulitzer Prize–winning memoir of his youth in 1930s and 40s Ireland, this book depicts the hardscrabble slums, public places, and people of Limerick ... (Read More)
List Price: $30.00 Sale Price: $9.98 You Save: $20.02
Through the Brazilian Wilderness
Theodore Roosevelt.
Publisher: Skyhorse.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9781628738025.  Daedalus Item Code: 54010
In 1914, with the well-wishes of the Brazilian government, former president Theodore Roosevelt, his son Kermit, and Colonel Cândido Rondon embarked on an expedition to map the course of the River of ... (Read More)
List Price: $14.95 Sale Price: $4.98 You Save: $9.97
Tigress of Forlì: The Life of Caterina Sforza
Elizabeth Lev.
Publisher: Head of Zeus.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9781908800176.  Daedalus Item Code: 54263
A strategist to match Machiavelli (with whom she had an affair), a warrior who stood toe to toe with the Borgias, a wife whose three marriages would end in bloodshed and heartbreak, and a mother ... (Read More)
List Price: Import Sale Price: $5.98
To the Edge of the World: The Story of the Trans-Siberian Railway
Christian Wolmar.
Publisher: Atlantic Books.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9780857890382.  Daedalus Item Code: 53606
The author of Engines of War; Blood, Iron, and Gold; and The Great Railway Revolution, Christian Wolmar here portrays the Trans-Siberian railway as an unparalleled engineering ... (Read More)
List Price: Import Sale Price: $4.98
The Tomb in Ancient Egypt: Royal and Private Sepulchres from the Early Dynastic Period to the Romans
Aidan Dodson & Salima Ikram.
Publisher: Thames & Hudson.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780500051399.  Daedalus Item Code: 50420
From the pyramids and royal burial ground in the Valley of the Kings, and the tombs of queens like Ramesses II's consort Nefertari, to the far more numerous private tombs of such nobles as Rekhmire ... (Read More)
List Price: $50.00 Sale Price: $14.98 You Save: $35.02
Tradition and the Black Atlantic: Critical Theory in the African Diaspora
Henry Louis Gates Jr.
Publisher: Basic Books.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780465014101.  Daedalus Item Code: 32999
In this conversational tour through the halls of theory, Henry Louis Gates Jr. leaps from Richard Wright to Spike Lee, from Pat Buchanan to Frantz Fanon, and ultimately to the source of ... (Read More)
List Price: $23.95 Sale Price: $4.98 $3.98 You Save: $19.97
The Traditional Ceramics of Southeast Asia
Mick Shippen.
Publisher: Hawaii.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9780824830083.  Daedalus Item Code: 50751
Over the past three centuries traditional folk pottery in Southeast Asia has changed very little; simple and practical earthenware pottery has been produced by small family groups using the ... (Read More)
List Price: $29.00 Sale Price: $6.98 You Save: $22.02
Transcendent Wisdom
The Dalai Lama. B. Alan Wallace, ed.
Publisher: Snow Lion.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9781559393294.  Daedalus Item Code: 38362
Shantideva's Guide to the Bodhisattva's Way of Life is one of the most important texts in the Mahayana tradition of Buddhist practice, and its ninth chapter, the section on transcendent ... (Read More)
List Price: $16.95 Sale Price: $4.98 You Save: $11.97
Treasury of Indian Love: Poems & Proverbs from the Indian Sub-Continent: In the Language of India and English
Christopher Shackle & Nicholas Awde, eds.
Publisher: Hippocrene.   Format: laminated cover.
ISBN: 9780781806701.  Daedalus Item Code: 52179
From a classified list of kisses in the Kamasutra ("The passion-kindling kiss: When she looks at his face while he sleeps and kisses it to show her desire. / The distracted kiss: When she ... (Read More)
List Price: $11.95 Sale Price: $3.98 You Save: $7.97
Tree of Paradise: Jewish Mosaics from the Roman Empire
Edward Bleiberg.
Publisher: Brooklyn Museum.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780872731554.  Daedalus Item Code: 52306
Discovered in 1883, these mosaics from a Roman-era synagogue in Tunisia are unique relics of Jewish life in the first few centuries of the modern era. Now housed in the Brooklyn museum, the 37 color ... (Read More)
List Price: $21.95 Sale Price: $5.98 You Save: $15.97
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | Previous | Next
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Reading Group Picks
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Movie Group Picks
Customer Service
How to Order
Contact Us
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Gift Cards
Track Order
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2015 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com