Browse our Digital Catalog! Order toll free 1-800-395-2665 Order Status
Order toll free 1-844-734-8475

Music : The Definitive Visual History

David Summers & Ruth O'Rourke-Jones, eds.
Item #: D10068
Format: Hardcover
Pages/Publication Date: 480 / 2013
Publisher: DK.
ISBN: 9781465414366
Currently Unavailable

Humans have always made music, and the art form has always moved with the times, revealing powerful truths about the artists and their cultures. Taking stock of organized sound from prehistory through the diverse hybrid forms of music available to us today, this profusely illustrated history surveys six centuries of classical music as well as the emergence and evolution of jazz, pop, blues, country, rock, punk, and electronica. Multifaceted and global in scope, the book contains sidebars, timelines, a glossary, and capsule biographies of many musicians, along with in-depth studies of instruments and profiles of such pivotal figures as Amadeus Mozart, Maria Callas, John Lennon, and David Bowie.


Visit our Sister Sites:
Acorn Acorn signals Support Plus What on Earth
Virtual Catalog