DVD Region Encoding
When purchasing a DVD, it is very important to note the DVD's region code. DVD region codes are placed on a disc by a publisher for several reasons (including distribution rights), and they control where a DVD may be viewed.

There currently are six codes for regions around the globe. If a disc is encoded with a particular region, then it can only be played on a DVD player typically sold in that region. However, many DVDs do not have a region encoded on the disc. In this case, the disc is playable on all regions worldwide. It is also possible for a disc to be encoded with multiple regions, but this is rare. In addition, it is possible to have a player that can play multiple regions. Listed below are the current DVD regions:

  • Region 0 or Worldwide: Can be played on any DVD player
  • Region 1: U.S., Canada, U.S. Territories
  • Region 2: Japan, Europe, South Africa, and the Middle East, including Egypt
  • Region 3: Southeast Asia and East Asia, including Hong Kong
  • Region 4: Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands, Central America, Mexico, South America, and the Caribbean
  • Region 5: Eastern Europe (Former Soviet Union), the Indian subcontinent, Africa, North Korea, and Mongolia
  • Region 6: China