Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
 
  Main Books Music DVDs Spotlight Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > History > military history
Search   
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
ShoppingCart
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
 
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Icon Description
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance Sale
Reading Group
More Books
To find more items like this one, go to:
history
Judaica

A Good Place to Hide: How One French Community Saved Thousands of Lives During World War II

 
 
Author
Peter Grose.
Publisher Pegasus  
Format paperback
Product Dimensions 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.95 inches
ISBN 9781681771243
Pages/Publication Date 326/2016
Daedalus Item Code 69141
This item is not available.
Description
Nobody asked questions, nobody demanded money. In Le Chambon-sur-Lignon, an isolated community in the upper reaches of the Loire Valley, villagers conspired, lied, covered up, procrastinated, and concealed—under the noses of both Nazi occupiers and the local authorities of Vichy France—to save the lives of 3500 Jews. Former journalist and publisher Peter Grose tells a little-known story full of ordinary yet remarkable people, from the pacifist Protestant pastor who broke laws and defied orders to protect the lives of total strangers to the 18-year-old Jewish boy from Nice who forged thousands of false identity papers to save Jews and Resistance fighters from the Nazis. Most of all, it is the story of good men and women who banded together to offer sanctuary, kindness, solidarity, and hospitality to people in desperate need, knowing full well the consequences they risked for themselves.

"Combines solid historical research with the tension of a spy novel. In the vein of Schindler's List, A Good Place to Hide is an inspiring account of the extraordinary courage of ordinary people."—Shelf Awareness

"Peter Grose's tale of the astounding 'rescue village' of Le Chambon is not what you think it would be: no sentimental yarn of deliverance of all those the Nazi regime had in their sights, but a tale of practically delivered salvage of the hunted. It is a story resonant in our days, the age of refugees, and a grand narrative in its own right, all told with absorbing narrative skill. A book to cherish and recommend."—Thomas Keneally

 
 
Security Seals
Books
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance
Reading Group Picks
Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Clearance
DVDs
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Clearance
Customer Service
How to Order
FAQ
Contact Us
Feedback
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Register
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Catalogs
Gift Cards
Track Order
 
Employment
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2017 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com