Login Shopping Cart My Account TrackOrder
 
  Main Books Music DVDs Help
  Top 10s Our Picks New Arrivals Great Deals Short Quantities Notable Books
Home > Books > Our Picks > Literature
Search   
Advanced Search
My Emma
and save 10% on your next order.
Visit us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter See our Pictures on PInterest
ShoppingCart
 Shopping Cart
0 item(s) in your cart
 
Subtotal : $0.00
HACKER SAFE certified sites prevent over 99.9% of hacker crime.
Our Picks
Books Category
Antiques
Arts - Performing
Arts - Visual
Audiobooks
Autobiography/ Biography
Business/Computer
Calendars/Notecards/ Gifts
Children's
Classical/ Medieval/ Renaissance Studies
Cooking/Food/Wine
Crafts
Cultural Studies
Erotica/Sexuality
Fiction
Games/Sports
General Non-Fiction
Health/Medicine
History
Home/Garden
Large Print
Literature
Nature
Nautical
New Age
Non-book
Parenting & Childcare
Philosophy
Reference
Regional Studies
Science
Seasonal
Social/ Behavioral/ Political Sciences
Spirituality/Religion
Transportation
Travel
Daedalus Books
Warehouse Outlet
Daedalus Warehouse outlet
Catalog Handy?
  Easy Order Form
  Shop Current Catalog
  Request Catalog
Need the Perfect Gift?

Gift Cards
Reading Group Picks

Reading Group Picks
Clearance Sale!
  Book Clearance
  Music Clearance
  DVD Clearance
Our Picks
We'd like to share our personal favorites with you. Here are titles that we particularly want to "hand-sell" to you?books that we think are outstanding, and that we don't want you to miss.
Literature Sort By # of Items Per Page
Outfoxing Fear: Folktales from Around the World
Kathleen Ragan, ed. Jack Zipes, intro.
Publisher: Norton.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9780393329322.  Daedalus Item Code: 50428
 
Humans have always lived with fear—of jaguars, of raiding Vikings, of nuclear holocaust—and folktales, according to Kathleen Ragan, often reflect how people cope with their fears and put them in ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $15.95 Sale Price: $4.98 $2.98 You Save: $12.97
P.G. Wodehouse: In His Own Words
Barry Day & Tony Ring, eds.
Publisher: Overlook.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9781590208656.  Daedalus Item Code: 73927
 
Douglas Adams called him "the greatest comic writer ever"; Pelham Grenville "Plum" Wodehouse is given something of an unorthodox biography in this sparkling collection of excerpts from the master's ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $15.95 Sale Price: $4.98 You Save: $10.97
Penelope Fitzgerald: A Life
Hermione Lee.
Publisher: Knopf.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780385352345.  Daedalus Item Code: 71622
 
(A 2013 New York Times Best Book of the Year and the winner of the 2013 James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the 2015 Plutarch Award) Following biographies of Edith Wharton, Virginia ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $35.00 Sale Price: $6.98 You Save: $28.02
The Play of the Eyes
Elias Canetti.
Publisher: Granta.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9781847083555.  Daedalus Item Code: 53089
 
This third memoir from Nobel Prize winner Elias Canetti (1905–94) is set in Vienna between 1931 and 1937, years when Hitler's rise to power—already clear to anyone with eyes to see—was approaching ... (Read More)
 
List Price: Import Sale Price: $4.98 $3.98
Pleasure Bound: Victorian Sex Rebels and the New Eroticism
Deborah Lutz.
Publisher: Norton.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780393068320.  Daedalus Item Code: 23891
 
In her smart, provocative account of the erotic undercurrent beneath the surface of Victorian London, Deborah Lutz reveals a daring group of artists and thinkers who defied propriety to explore their ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $27.95 Sale Price: $4.98 $3.98 You Save: $23.97
Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles
Douglas Florian.
Publisher: Dial.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780803740426.  Daedalus Item Code: 71050
 
"A bowl of oatmeal. / A bowl of flakes. / A bowl of bowling balls— / We all make mistakes." A poet-illustrator in the tradition of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, Douglas Florian here presents ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $16.99 Sale Price: $4.98 You Save: $12.01
The Poets' Daughters: Dora Wordsworth and Sara Coleridge
Katie Waldegrave.
Publisher: Windmill Books.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9780099537342.  Daedalus Item Code: 62965
 
Dora Wordsworth and Sara Coleridge were lifelong friends. They were also the daughters of poetic geniuses and best friends William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge, who ushered in Romanticism ... (Read More)
 
List Price: Import Sale Price: $4.98
Rage for Fame: The Ascent of Clare Boothe Luce
Sylvia Jukes Morris.
Publisher: Random House.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9780812992496.  Daedalus Item Code: 73016
 
Born in 1903 in New York's Spanish Harlem, Clare Booth Luce had nothing to recommend her but beauty, ferocious intelligence, and dry wit; she wrote three Broadway hits and married millionaire Henry ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $18.00 Sale Price: $4.98 You Save: $13.02
A Reader's Book of Days: True Tales from the Lives and Works of Writers for Every Day of the Year
Tom Nissley. Joanna Neborsky, illus.
Publisher: Norton.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780393239621.  Daedalus Item Code: 64021
 
This delight of a book is perfect bedside company. Packed with delicious anecdotes and fun facts for every day of the year—including birthdates and death anniversaries of authors—this is a wonderful ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $24.95 Sale Price: $5.98 You Save: $18.97
River of Ink: Literature, History, Art
Thomas Christensen.
Publisher: Counterpoint.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9781619024267.  Daedalus Item Code: 72349
 
Possessed of boundless curiosity and an engaging literary style, the author of 1616: The World in Motion takes readers on an around-the-world tour with these 30 essays on art, science, and the ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $35.00 Sale Price: $6.98 You Save: $28.02
The Romantic Poets and Their Circle
Richard Holmes.
Publisher: National Portrait Gallery, London.   Format: paperback.
ISBN: 9781855144774.  Daedalus Item Code: 71231
 
The ideal of the inspired artist owes its origin to the key figures of the Romantic period—Lord Byron, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, and John Keats among them—who revolutionized ... (Read More)
 
List Price: Import Sale Price: $4.98
Rome and Rhetoric: Shakespeare's Julius Caesar
Garry Wills.
Publisher: Yale.   Format: hardcover.
ISBN: 9780300152180.  Daedalus Item Code: 42102
 
Renaissance plays and poetry in England were saturated with the rhetorical twists that Latin education made familiar to audiences and readers, yet even a formally educated man like Ben Jonson was ... (Read More)
 
List Price: $25.00 Sale Price: $4.98 $2.98 You Save: $22.02
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | Previous | Next
 
Security Seals
Books
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Books
Clearance
Reading Group Picks
Music
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable Music
Clearance
DVDs
Top 10s
Our Picks
New Arrivals
Great Deals
Short Quantities
Notable DVDs
Clearance
Customer Service
How to Order
FAQ
Contact Us
Feedback
About Us
Privacy Policy
My Account
Register
Forgot Password?
Change Your Info
Order History
Web Site Preference
Easy Order Form
Catalogs
Gift Cards
Track Order
 
Employment
Order online or call 1-800-395-2665 (U.S.) or 1-410-309-2705 (Outside U.S. & Canada)
This site features merchandise from our catalogs and store, in addition to items available only online. Availability may vary.
©2018 Daedalus Books, Inc. | Contact customer service at custserv@daedalusbooks.com